Upcoming Events

ICRI Broken Rails Workshop: Dec. 2nd, 2020 12:00 PST / 15:00 EST / 20:00 GMT / Dec. 3rd 07:00 AEDT

The goal is to review the current status of the project and then advance each of the 5 modeling elements.  As per the July review, these are:

  1. Impact of Rail Grinding on RCF – how important or practical is it to fine tune rail grinding practices? What role do new inspection tools play?
  2. Impact of Friction Modifiers on RCF – are there research gaps in current models?
  3. Relationship between RCF and UT – are untestable rails necessarily prone to breakage? 
  4. Strength model  – given material properties, MGT, defect history and current condition, what is the rail’s resistance to breakage?
  5. Derailment modeling – which broken rails lead to a derailment?

In order to include our Australian colleagues the workshop time is unfortunately less favorable to our European colleagues.

More details, including a meeting link, will follow.

Donald Julius Groen Prize Lecture: Dec. 4 12:00 GMT

We are very proud to let you know that one of our colleagues, Dr. Roger Lewis of Sheffield University, has been awarded the Donald Julius Groen Prize in Tribology this year.  Sponsored by IMechE, it is “Awarded for outstanding papers or for outstanding achievements in the sphere of” Tribology.

Roger will be giving a lecture on “The Wheel/Rail Interface: Understanding and Controlling the Complex Tribology of an Open System” on the 4th of December at 12pm. You are all invited to register and attend this free lecture – see https://events.imeche.org/ViewEvent?code=TLE7210

Please join us in congratulating Roger for this well-deserved recognition.

ICRI Webinar – Autonomous vehicle-track interaction monitoring and railway infrastructure maintenance: Dec. 9 09:00 EST / 14:00 GMT

Presenter: Stasha Jovanovic – Ensco, USA & Faculty of Technical Sciences, Novi Sad, Serbia

Minimizing degradation of Track Components (TC) through better maintenance and renewal (M&R) targeting and management not only improves TC condition but can also generate large absolute savings, and improve rail traffic safety and reliability. Conventional approaches utilize track geometry data collected infrequently by a track recording vehicle. Ensco’s Vehicle/Track Interaction Monitor (V/TI Monitor) meanwhile is installed on revenue trains and provides much more frequent performance based condition to data to reliably target problem track locations. In North America alone, more than 435 VTI units measure more than 100,000 km of track every day. The volume of data arising is enormous.

The Faculty of Technical Sciences in Novi Sad, Serbia, with assistance and guidance from Ensco is now processing more than 3 million V/TI Monitor defects registered over a 3+ year period on an Australian Heavy Haul railway. A specialized software “VTI-TQI” was developed for trending and prediction of V/TI Monitor defects, with the ultimate aim of M&R planning. In parallel Ensco undertook research related to rail surface imaging and analysis, also aimed at optimizing M&R planning. The presentation describes the key results of both research activities and their application to rail and track defect prediction and track component M&R planning and optimization.

To be added to the webinar invitation please contact the ICRI coordinator (icri-rcf@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca). The meeting link will also be published here on the day before the web meeting.

26th Annual Wheel Rail Interaction Conference. May 17-20, 2021

Annual conference on wheel-rail interaction topics coming to Chicago/IL.

For more information: Wheel Rail Seminars

International Conference on Contact Mechanics – CM 2022. September 2022, Melbourne, Australia

Originally planned for 2021 this conference got postponed by a year due to COVID-19. More information will be published here upon availability.